Books published by Kate Glanville

The Peacock House

The Peacock House by Kate Glanville

The Peacock House is Kate’s fifth published novel. It was published in September 2021 by Headline and is available in paperback, ebook and on Audible. It is also published by Bastee Lubbe in Germany. 

Evelyn dreams of escaping Vaughan Court and the loveless marriage that led her there. Then, at the height of the Second World War, a single moment changes her life and tethers her to the house for ever.

Decades later, life has given as much as it has taken from Evelyn. Although a bestselling author, Evelyn still cannot escape the painful hold of the past.

Aspiring journalist Bethan hasn’t been back to Vaughan Court since she was a little girl. But the opportunity to interview her grandmother’s oldest friend – the Evelyn Vaughan – leads her back to North Wales. As Bethan learns about Evelyn’s life, she realises the ghosts of the grand house are yet to be laid to rest. And soon she’s determined to uncover the secrets hidden within . .

The Cherry Tree Summer

The Cherry Tree Summer by Kate Glanville book cover

The Cherry Tree Summer is Kate’s fourth published novel. It was published in 2021 by Headline and is available in paperback, ebook and on Audible.  It is also published by Bastee Lubbe in Germany.

When tragedy struck 25 years ago, Martha Morgan lost everything. Once a member of one of the UK’s most prestigious bands, she now lives in solitude in the beautiful small village of Dordogne.

In an attempt to piece her life back together, Martha decides to rent her idyllic French farmhouse to holidaymakers for the summer, hiring the mysterious Ben to work as a caretaker to help reconstruct the dishevelled B&B. 

But when a vicious storm makes its way across the small village, tensions begin to rise. Martha, Ben and her guests are forced to pull together, and they’re about to find out that they have more in common than they realise – but it might mean jeopardising the old secret of Martha’s past.


Stargazing by Kate Glanville

Her third novel, Stargazing, was published by Accent Press in January 2016 and also by Bastee Lubbe in Germany in 2016. It is available in Waterstones and WH Smith nationwide.

Stargazing is told through the eyes of three women, a wife, a daughter and a mistress. They all have something to hide. When Nesta’s husband leaves her on the day of their Ruby Wedding anniversary a chain of events begin that will change the lives of the three women forever.

Secrets can drag anyone back to earth… Three women, connected by one man: Daniel is father to Seren, husband to Nesta and lover to Frankie. When he leaves Nesta and their beautiful home in the middle of the party to celebrate their fortieth wedding anniversary Seren’s world begins to crumble. Only the continuation of the family ideal can make things right. But Nesta isn’t so sure. And for Frankie, Daniel offers hope of a safe and secure future. But all three women are carrying secrets that they’ve kept hidden even from those closest to them. Secrets that might even threaten a life


Her second novel, Heartstones, published by Accent Press is available as a paperback from Waterstones and Amazon it is available as an e-book through Amazon and itunes. The book has been translated into Norwegian and German and published in Norway by Cappelen Damm and Germany by Bastee Lubbe  in 2013.

Set in a beautiful Irish coastal village, the legacy of a passionate affair is revealed in this stunning novel. Heartstones is a novel about secrets. Set in contemporary Ireland the story is intertwined with one set in 1940’s. In both past and present it seems that everybody has something to hide. When Phoebe’s married lover dies in a car accident she dare not openly express her grief for fear of their affair being found out. Heart broken she leaves her life in England to search out the old boathouse bequeathed to her by her Irish grandmother.

Enthralled by the stunning scenery of the West Coast of Ireland she soon finds herself swept up by life in the nearby village of Carraigmore. When she discovers a collection of her grandmother’s old diaries hidden beneath the boat house floorboards she becomes immersed in a story of family scandal, repressed sexuality and a passionate affair between her grandmother and a young Irish artist. As Phoebe tries to piece together the truth about her grandmother’s past she begins to realise that the repercussions of what happened all those years before have shaped not only her own life but the lives of those in the small community around her. With many questions unanswered Phoebe sets out to find out more but it seems that no one in Carraigmore is quite telling her the truth.

A Perfect Home

Her first novel, A Perfect Home, was published by Penguin 2012. It is available online and at stores nationwide, it has also been published as an e-book. The latest edition of A Perfect Home is available from Accent Press, July 2014. It is currently a Top 100 Bestseller on and is now available at Waterstones and WH Smiths.

On the face of it, Claire and William have a perfect marriage and family. They also have an impeccably restored cottage in the country that looks like it belongs in a magazine. It will be in a magazine, in fact: Idyllic Home plans to feature the house in its Christmas issue. But to meet its deadline, it‘s scheduling the photo shoot in two days – in the middle of a heat wave in July.